11

I’m not here to make a deep post about the feelings I’m sorting through today, but I did want to say something.  Sometimes, it’s better to let it out to figure out what you’re really going through.

It was my second day of my senior year in high school 11 years ago today.  I got ready for school, dancing around my room to the new Britney Spears song.  I got on the bus.  It was there that I heard a freshman or sophomore talk about how annoyed she was that her boyfriend called her to turn on the tv.  I’ll never, ever forget her words.  “So what?  A plane crashed into a building.”

I’m sad.  I’m confused.  I’m thinking of my grandpa who saw the attack on Pearl Harbor and then this.  I’m wondering if I’m the only one.

To me, today is about remembering.  It’s about honoring those who died, who did everything they could to help.  It’s about love.  It’s about hoping that one day, we don’t need a huge tragedy to bring us together as a country but to be strong enough to be that accepting, loving and kind already.

Leave a Reply

